Sweet Potato Veggie Casserole

sweet potato casserole recipe

The hardest part about making recipes is that I am not very precise in my measurements. I take a more artistic approach to cooking than scientific, but when it comes to sharing your recipe so others can benefit, it helps to have some good old quant skills.

So when I wrote Easy Hiking Recipes, I often tested each recipe 5+ times to fine tune the measurements! My boyfriend was pretty happy to be the taste-tester for all of my experiments 🙂 This recipe hasn’t gone through that refining process, so I have to admit that the measurements are vague at best. But casseroles lend themselves well to ad-libbing, so perhaps you will end up with a very different and even yummier casserole than mine!

But for what it’s worth, here it is:

Sweet Potato Casserole

2 sweet potatoes, maybe 3 if they’re not huge, peeled and grated

1 onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 broccoli crown, or other vegetables, chopped

7 eggs

Cayenne pepper and salt to taste

Optional: cheese to sprinkle on top, or chopped sausage to cook and add to the mixture

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. (I just moved to Canada so I suppose I should be writing this in Celsius now, but try as I might I can’t seem to think in Centigrade. Hopefully it’ll kick in eventually). I chop the veggies as I cook, but to each his or her own. This is how I did it, though:

In a large pot, add a couple tablespoons of oil and the chopped garlic. Fry on medium until the oil starts to sizzle. In the meantime, chop the onion and add it to the pot.

Lower heat to medium-low and keep stirring the onion, while you peel and grate the sweet potato. Add the potato to the pot as you grate. (I’m not your mom so sorry for the nagging, but be VERY careful of your fingers as you grate! I’ve seen too many kitchen battle scars in my life not to add that caveat, sorry again. I leave a 2″ nubbin of sweet potato for each one I grate. You can chop up the nubbins afterward and throw them in the pot too).

Keep stirring the pot, and chop the broccoli, and cooked sausage if you so desire. Add that to the pot and stir in the salt and pepper to taste.

Grease a 9×13″ pan (who knows what that is in centimeters?) and pour in the semi-cooked concoction.

Beat the eggs and pour it on top, shaking the pan around to get it dispersed evenly. Sprinkle cheese on top if you’d like.

Bake for 22 minutes, or until the egg seems nice and cooked. Take out and cool!

Leave a comment